Nowadays, people live in the society where consumer goods are cheaper to buy. Do you think its advanta

Globalization has ushered in an era of consumerism and people are flooded with cheap consumer products. While I believe that the lowering costs of consumer goods has its advantages, its drawbacks are certainly more. The main advantage of cheap consumer goods is they can be afforded by the majority and this in turn means more production and employment. This is definitely beneficial for the overall economy of the country. In addition, it is bettering the quality of life of the poor and decreasing the difference in the lifestyles of the rich and poor. For example, today, even the poorest of the poor own consumer goods like televisions, mobile phones and computers. Despite the advantages, I still consider the lowering of consumer goods prices to be harmful overall. Firstly, cheap consumer goods means there is a compromise with the quality and thus the life-cycle of today’s consumer products is a lot shorter than before. Ultimately, the consumers suffer and they spend more because they end up buying the same product more often. Also, by making repair comparatively uneconomical, in a way, these cheap products are also leading to closure of small repair shops. In addition, to offer cheap consumer goods without sacrificing profit margins, companies are resorting to automation and this results in further job losses. Last but not least, cheap consumer goods are leading to environmental degradation as they consume more natural resources and more energy. This further leads to increasing waste as evident from the overflowing landfill sites in urban areas and pollution. To conclude, cheap consumer goods do have their advantages but these advantages come at a heavy price to the consumer and the environment.