The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often argued that the role of science should be to improve people's lives. Although I agree with the statement above, I believe that scientific advancement must not limit itself to the extent of people's livelihood. This essay will argue that although satisfying people's needs is important we must acknowledge that scientific advancement must also go beyond human-centric conception. On one hand, there are already numerous scientific advantage that help improve people's lives such as the advancement in the field of medicine and transportation. Take scientific advancement in medical sectors for example, it directly improves our life expectancy. Other advancements in the transportation field for example, with the discovery of modern personal vehicle such as car that help with our mobility. On the other hand, we must acknowledge that there are scientific advancement that helps with the improvement of our lives also have a direct contribution towards the destruction of our environment and the planet we live in. For instance, the advancement of modern medicine also correlated to the increasing medical waste that could potentially hazardous towards other creature. Other example would be the advancements of transportation such as personal vehicle that contributes to the increasing number of emission that exacerbate the greenhouse gas emission. In conclusion, believe that there are nothing wrong with the statement that science should improve people's live. However, we must concede that the notion of improving people's live sometimes related to the environmental destruction. Therefore, I believe that the important of science should not only improving people's live but also improving other creatures that live in our environment.