The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often argued that the role of science should be to improve people's lives. Although I agree with the statement above, I believe that scientific advance must not limit itself to the extent of people's livelihood. This essay will argue that although satisfying people's needs is important we must acknowledge that scientific advance must also go beyond human-centric conception. On one hand, there are already numerous scientific advantages that help improve people's lives such as the improvement in the field of medicine and transportation. Take scientific upgrading in medical sectors, for example, it directly improves our life expectancy. Other advancements in the transportation field for example, with the discovery of modern personal vehicles such as cars that help with our mobility. On the other hand, we must acknowledge that there is scientific advancement that helps with the improvement of our lives and also have a direct contribution towards the destruction of our environment and the planet we live in. For instance, the advancement of modern medicine also correlated to the increasing medical waste that could potentially be hazardous towards other creatures. Another example would be the advancements in transportation such as personal vehicle that contributes to the increasing number of emissions that exacerbate greenhouse gas emissions. In conclusion, believe that there is nothing wrong with the statement that science should improve people's lives. However, we must concede that the notion of improving people's lives is sometimes related to environmental destruction. Therefore, I believe that the importance of science should not only improve people's lives but also improve other creatures that live in our environment.