In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some places across the world, it is common for children to be told that everything is possible through hard work. While this is good because it motivates people to be hardworking, it dismisses how privilege plays a big part in success, which can lead to people not being able to face failure when they feel like they have given their maximum effort. One of the advantages of telling kids that everything is achieveable through hard work is that it can motivate people to work hard to reach their dreams. This keeps people motivated throughout their journey, keeps them from giving up, which increases the chance of them succeeding. Walt Disney, as an example, has gone through many ups and downs in the process of building Disney. He tried different styles of animations, different styles of stories. If he gave up in the middle of that process, one of the main animation studios in this world would not exist today. However, it is important to remember that privilege is also a big factor of success. This is the main disadvantage for telling children that hard work is everything, because it does not prepare people for failure because of things outside of their control. Everyone have a different starting point and backgrounds, such as a better education and a wealthier background, and it can lead to different advantages in their career. It is important to remember these kinds of things while chasing your dreams to manage your dreams and be resilient. For example, in a chapter of a Malcolm Gladwell’s book, Outliers, he explained that children that come from rich families get to spend their holiday productively to continue practicing their academic skills, while kids that comes from a poorer background needs to help their parents in the farmland, away from academics. As a result, the grades of the wealthier kids are higher than the poorer ones. In other words, being smart is not the only thing that affects grades, but coming from a background that allows you to study is also very (if not more) important. In conclusion, telling kids that everything is achieveable through hard work can be a great motivation for them to keep going. But, at the same time it can lead to them breaking down when they failed to achieve what they are trying to do after giving their best efforts.