Some people say that excessive noise should be a criminal offence, while others say they should be free to make noise without limitation. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some folks believe that there should be a punishment for being too loud, but others think that it should be their right to make as much noise as they want. This essay agrees that there should be a punishment for making excessive noise because it disturbs other people, but, on the other hand, sometimes excessive noise is done to alert people with important information. There should be further considerations done for the standard of what is allowed and what is not allowed. Loud continuous noise can be a disturbance to others, it can disturb people when they need to concentrate, for example when they are trying to study or work. When you are trying to concentrate, it is hard to do so when there are a lot of unwanted noise around you. A recent study at one of the schools in Bandung showed that children concentrate better in a peaceful environment without noise disturbances. However, the noise deemed excessive sometimes serves a purpose. Mosques in Indonesia uses outdoor loudspeakers in most of their activities, which becomes a noise pollution and often disturbs students trying to study. But, it is also used to share important news. For example, a research from a few years back in Indonesia finds that mosque’s soundsystem is also often used to alert nearby residents in the case of emergency news and the like. In spite of that, most of the time it is not used to share necessary information. This comes back to my initial point that the information allowed to be played on loudspeakers should be filtered. In conclusion, this essay agrees that punishment should be given for excessive noise, but on the other side, the noise might sometimes be an important alert. For that reason, there should be a standard for what kind of information allowed to be shared in a style that can disturb people.