Labor-saving devices such as dishwashers and communication tools such as computers are supposed to make our lives easier. However, some people argue that these devices one make them more difficult. Does modern technology reduce or increase stress?

In recent years, technology development has gained a major breakthrough in many areas. Some are of the view that cutting-edge devices make their lives more convenient while others have opposed ideas. I will examine both views before setting out my opinion on the matter. To begin with, there is a variety of reasons why some people usually consider modern devices overburdened. Firstly, it is obvious that in order to use these devices effectively they must make a little bit efforts in learning how to operate them. Yet it can be not completely easy for some people, especially the elderly who always meet trouble when updating new technologies. Secondly, there would be a number of rising costs during operation. For example, the computer can stop working if the users accidentally delete some radical files of the operating system. At that time, they must pay an amount of money for the technicians to fix it. As a result, it could make them more stressful. However, I strongly believe that modern devices bring various convenience for users. Initially, being exhausted after working hours can make some people start to realize the importance of the devices which probably help them save their time and energy. Despite doing manually by themselves, they can take advantage of these devices to support them do housework. Furthermore, thanks to some devices like computers or mobile phones, people can easily connect to the rest of the world as long as they have an internet access. Compared to the past when people only could make direct calls, today’s applications such as Facetime or Viber obviously help people keep in touch together with no-cost payment. In conclusion, although some people argue that modern devices make their lives more difficult, it seems to me that the advantages of these devices outweighs than these disadvantages.