Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It has become apparent that, the foods and beverages that are produced today contain high concentrations of sugar which causes various health defects. However, I disagree with the solution that is raised for the issue and in this essay, I will analytically discuss the reasons for my disagreement. The first and foremost reason is, that the majority of sugary products are essential components of our everyday diet. For example, bread, rice and pasta are considered staple foods because they contribute significant amounts of calories to our regular body functions. People should obtain the average of three thousand kilo calories of energy per day and more than two third of it comes from above mentioned starchy food items. Increasing prices of this stuff would negatively affect people ’s health and well-being, thereby, the public will suffer from malnutrition. On top of that, although sugary products are made out of the price range of the general public, the occurrence of health issues will not be stopped unless people are educated regarding healthy habits. Not only the consumption of sweet products, but also the over-consumption of starchy foods are also not beneficial for health because they indirectly add a substantial amounts of sugar to the body. For example, it has been scientifically proven that, people who eat more than three hundred grams of starch, have a risk of getting diabetes. Therefore, it is mandatory to make people aware of the importance of a balanced diet and the consequences of taking excess amounts of sugar. This way eventually reduces the high sugar intake of people and thereby, the government do not need to impose higher prices for sugary items. In conclusion, price increments will negatively impact regular staple diets as well. However, the better solution is to raise public awareness regarding healthy food habits and issues of excessive consumption of sweets. Through this, people will gradually move away from higher sweet intake and thereby, reduce the risk of non-communicable diseases.