Road accidents are more frequent these days and claim many lives each year. As a result, some people suggest that drivers should take regular driving tests throughout their lives, rather than one single driving test, to improve the situation. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, there has been a significant increase in car accidents which results in many lost lives, though people recognize a problem which is a logical solution. It is suggested that one driving test should not be enough for the rest of a person’s life, but regular tests should be taken. This essay will outline the positive and negative side of this statement, however there are more benefits which outweigh the drawbacks. One of the major pros of taking repeated tests is that people will get the ability to remember and learn new things. It is well known that law changes quite frequently and this results in most people now even knowing the new rules. Additionally, this will be an opportunity for people to read and educate themselves before a test. For example, most elderly people are dangerous drivers which cause these vehicle crashes because of health problems or low knowledge in updated rules. I am quite familiar with this situation as my grandad is 73 and still drives. He is unfamiliar with what the speed limit is, road signs and lines. Therefore, it is necessary for periodic driving examinations which could decrease accidents or perhaps even save a life. On the other hand, there are numerous cons of repeated tests which drivers should uptake in. Firstly, if there would be a stated law that it is a must to take frequent drivers exams, then the government should increase the funding for these examination centers, which could lead to worker shortage or simply a decrease of employees. In particular, the government would provide financial aid to driving centers to buy more books, computers, cars and new technology in general. Consequently, this could lead to smaller salaries or not enough employees to work with this new law. In conclusion, renewing drivers licenses from time to time could have a major impact on safer roads and less bad habits for drivers, however this requires financial funds and could lead to a falling workforce. These changes would lead to substantial benefits.