In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Children are able to get everything whether they do their upmost - It is told in several societies. Though this can motivate children to conquere different ups and downs of their lives, there are also some negative effects of this kind of motivation. On the one hand, children often feel downhearted in different situations. It is a must for the senior members of a society to push them to acheive their goals. Besides, there are not only physical fitness but also mental strength are needed to work towards life goals. Additionally, sometimes children are blissfully unware about their potential powers. Then, they feel depressed whether they fail to reach their ambitions. Here, this kind of inspirational words can make them work harder and hard work mostly never ends in a unexpected result. It tends to ensure that thing what people want. On the other hand, the competency and mental strength of all the children could not be equal. There might be some physical or mental obstacles to work in a full pace. Then, the assurance of anything by trying hard could not be true. Children who have been suffering in attention deficiencies have not enough power to aim something strongly. They might not acheive everything and that do not refer to the lack of trying. Furthermore, in this era of technology, there are a huge number of factors beside trying to achieve something. For instance, the poor boys go to the nearest school in a third world country might be unable to get awards in a science olympiad. They have potential but they have not enough equipment. So, the advice to work harder to achieve award or something might not be useful for them. Furthermore, this kind of motivation often create the mentality of competetion instead of help. This will be harmful for a society in a long run. In conclusion, it can be told that, this message has both advantages and disadvantages. If the society is able to deliver this message in a right way that will be helpful for children. Otherwise, this message will cause physical and mental issues to children in differet aspects.