In order to reduce crime, we need to attack the cause of crime such as poverty and lack of educational opportunities. It’s not enough to simply have more police on the street and put more people into prison. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, a dramatically increasing crime rate can be observed and the main reason of this issue is that children from poor families are deprived of the ability to have a high education level. It is agreed, that poverty contributes to crime prosperity, therefore the growth in the number of police will not reduce the main problem. This essay, firstly, will discuss why illegal methods are so widespread these days,followed by an analysis of measures which can be taken to decline risks. To begin with, there are a myriad of families who suffer from unemployment and a poor economic status, consequently, they try to earn money in illegal ways, such as through thefts. There are some reasons which allow this issue to become common. Firstly, there is a lack of work positions,especially for those who are poor,because each employer would probably prefer a successful person. Secondly, to have the ability to achieve something,people need to have a diploma, otherwise, all work opportunities are not available. However, most of the universities have high prices, therefore poor parents can not allow their children to study, thus a lot of them try to find other ways to earn money and usually, it is a crime. Conversely, to reduce the level of thefts, government should develop some educational programs for those kids. Countless police in the streets will not solve this problem, in contrast, it will help to find other ways for criminals because they would try to avoid prison. Providing people with work opportunities would allow families to earn money honestly, moreover, their kids would be able to study. Thus, during their educational programs, they can have a chance to work as a volunteer, so in the near future, they would be competent enough to replace parents at work. To conclude, this essay agrees that the crime level is high and it is predictable that it will rise, nevertheless, some special measures can be taken to contribute to the prosperity of legal ways of money earning.