Young people who commit serious crimes, such as robbery or violent attacks should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The level of punishment that criminals receive should be determined carefully to reduce the crime rates. Whether young offenders should be punished in the same way as adults is often a contentious issue. I generally agree that the punishments should differ according to the stage of the development of each criminal to provide effective treatment. On one hand, there should be no disparity in the punishment among offenders because they are equally responsible for their own wrongdoings. In other words, the troubles that victims get do not make any difference when they are caused by young suspects. For example, families of the loss experience the same sense of suffering when their parents and children are killed by the young. It is not likely that they are convinced by their reduced sentences and financial charges just because the offender is immature. Furthermore, they must be deeply disappointed by the results and lose hope for fear of similar crimes being repetitive among young offenders. Offenders will not be encouraged to refrain from violent acts because of their understanding of mitigated penalties. Therefore, the same punishment should be imposed on young criminals as adults to discourage their illegal acts. On the other hand, the authority should take the immaturity of the young into serious account. Children are not fully developed and lack a significant understanding of moralities. Their inability to regulate their emotion and express their opinions cannot be equally blamed on grown-ups. Consequently, the harsh penalty would not encourage them to reflect on their bad behaviour and feel sorry for the victims. Rather than the strict regulations from the police and court, education is of fundamental importance to raise a sense of respect and love to prevent their selfish acts. Therefore, the equal treatment of young criminals as old ones would not be effective in discouraging their wrongdoings. In conclusion, victims demand as harsh penalties as adults as young adults because the difference in age would not reduce their shock at all. However, one cannot expect positive consequences since education and emotional support are what they need the most to alter their behaviour.