Some think that people should not change their jobs while others think they should because it brings advantages for themselves, company and society. Discuss and give opinion

Whether employees should jump from one job to another or they should work at the same position throughout their career has been a controversial topic. In my opinion, while changing jobs can be beneficial to a certain extent, being in a similar position is more advantageous to both the individual and the employer. On the one hand, career changes can benefit employees in many ways. First, job hoppers can hone diverse skills and possess an expansive knowledge spanning across different fields. As each position requires unique abilities, when switching jobs, employees can master a new skill, which can be of importance to positions that entails cross-department communication and cooperation. Moreover, individuals who change jobs often will be less likely to become jobless, as their diverse skill set can be applied in any post. For instance, during the Covid-19 pandemic, people who had additional knowledge in a field different from their job can find new positions once personnel reduction took place. On the other hand, advocates of working constantly in one post have firm grounds to argue that this trend has numerous positive effects. Concerning individuals, being loyal to a position means that their incentives are high, including seniority bonuses as well as labor insurance. Whereas job hoppers can never expect this as their short-term work will always put their benefits at a new employee level. As for companies, having faithful employees can help them cut training costs and avoid problems that can arise from newcomers. When a new member joins the team, the company has to pay for their lack of efficiency and experience. This is not the case of longtime employees, whose incentives are only tools to motivate them to achieve greater success, not a retribution on the company for their senior employees ’ mistakes. In conclusion, while it is fair to argue that jumping between jobs can help individuals broaden their skill set, working in one position constantly can have numerous positive effects on both the employees and the employers.