Smoking is a major cause of serious illness and death throughout the world today. In the interest of the public health, government should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern era, there have been accompanying issues with smoking which can be a considerable cause of severe physical health issues. There are some people who believe that accepting smoking tobacco products including cigarettes should be regulated by a government as this increases a massive risk for society members in indirect smoking including children. However, this can be considered as overstepping if a law might be established at the government level. For this reason, I have different viewpoints from them. First of all, this is undeniable that smoking behaviour has a number of negative impacts on public health, especially the young generation. This is due to the fact that young people might be exposed to harmful places where adults smoke regardless if there are children around them. Although young individuals under a certain age such as 18 are still restricted from smoking cigarettes, they cannot be free from other adults' impacts. This would have an enormous impact on children's physical health. As a severe example, children who have parents smoking might have a high possibility of having severe cancers which can be caused by indirect experience of smoking from their parents. Nonetheless, although this is a significant issue for children's health, most governments in the world have not put any regulations on selling, buying, and smoking tobacco-related products. This is because governments cannot limit all-grown individuals' choices in the light of human rights. In the UN's human rights declralation, the sentence can be found that governments should respect individuals' choices. For this reason, creating new rules in society would lead to people's voices who disagree and resist the government which might bring different social issues to the public. On the other hand, the government always carry their responsibility to minimise harm to people who do not smoke such as children and non-smokers among adults by legally appointing smoke-free areas or smoking areas for public health. To conclude, it cannot be marginalised that smoking and selling cigarettes might bring an undeniable issue, especially among young peers. However, this should not be neglected that restricting smoking with the regulation might infringe human rights standing against respecting people's choices which I am partly in the same vein.