In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In modern years, businesses often highlight, in their commercial, that their products are innovative and brand new. I would argue that this is happened on the grounds that consumers would simply follow everything that companies said as they thought their words were trustworthy and logical. I strongly believe that this is a massive negative development as many misinformation will emerge and create a deceitful world. Customers in recent eras tend to think less critical, hence sugar-coated advertisement will be their first choice. Furthermore, social media and influencers further develop their consumerism, leaving their own desire behind. For example, smartphone companies generally upgrade minimally towards their product every several months, but raise its cost for a whooping 10-20%. This leads to "loyal" customers buy the brand new mobile phones despite of their previous phones were fine. This act of consumerism negatively impact our civilization because we will no longer think with our brain, but shaped by what the companies content. For instance, there is an emerged terminology called greenwashing in business, brainwashing people that a certain new product is "green" or helping the environment. By doing so, the target market wouldn't even cared to research thoroughly about the products, and just followed the claim. In reality, those "eco-friendly" products are not necessarily flawless, and sometimes damage the environment even more through a massive ecological exploit. In conclusion, recently, companies emphasize that their products are new in their advertisement. This happened because public are no longer think carefully with things they willingly to buy, which should be considered as a major downside since companies can own the market by tricking their behaviour.