Some people say that the best way to reduce the time that people spend travelling to work is to have large roads that go through the city centre. Others however, think that there are more effective ways to reduce the time people spend travelling to work. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

An efficient way, thought by some individuals to reduce the time of travelling to the workplace is extending the roads of city. Whereas according to other masses, there are some other steps which might be more beneficial in this regard. I personally believe that, only road extension would not be sufficient to solve this issue instead other steps should also the taken into consideration. To begin with, narrow roads are not capable of holding a lot of traffic at the same time especially in the peak hours which consequences people losing their valuable time in the street. Most importantly, that leads to mental stress while going to the office. Therefore, if roads get extended this problem might be solved because then roads can bear a significant amount of traffic and mitigate traffic jams which would help people to reach in time. For instance, after the extension of roads in India, around 40% of traffic jams have been solved and people say they are now capable of reaching work on time. However, I personally believe that road extension is not the only way of encountering this problem. The government and other responsible authorities should find some other measures to tackle it. More specifically, roads should not only be extended but also more new roads should be constructed to solve it. Reducing the number of vehicles on the road may be another effective way of minimizing it. In Bangladesh, for example, numerous flyovers have been built to reduce the travel time to the workplace and that results in a remarkable benefit. People are taking the main roads towards the city along with the flyovers and that has minimized the traffic problems up to 60%. To conclude, the traffic problem during working hours is a burning issue and only the extension of roads is not enough to solve it, rather it is required to solve this problem by thinking about several measures.