Older people often choose to spend their money on themselves (e.g., on holiday) rather than save money for their children after retirement. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that older generations prefer to live on their own terms in spite of put their money aside for their juveniles. Older individuals choose to spend more money on themselves, their needs and wishes, instead of economize, giving them to their minors, and I believe there are both positive and negative effects. First and foremost, the importance of living for our desires is quite beneficial for a brave and healthy life, that makes us alive, gives us motivation and maintain physical condition. For instance, many older members of society have chronical diseases, such as diabetes, cardiovascular disease or even depression which is most common among the older generations. That is why mental health and satisfactory life of elderly should be taken seriously. Spending your personal capital to ensure your own health is the first necessary step for any person. On the other hand, the importance of family support is another level. It is true that we should take care of ourselves, however we should be parents for our children the same and give them wonderful future, even for grandchildren. As we care about our family, so will their members care about us. For example, parents might sponsor the purchase of property, babysitting, and education. These things would be enough for a better standard of living. To sum up, nowadays elderly individuals really care more about themselves and their desires, but if we are concerning family morals, we should be quite supportive and understanding. For this reason, the quality of selfishness is not that attributive in this case.