It is believed that secondary school children should study international news as one of their school subjects. Others think that this is a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

While it is supported by some that secondary school curriculum should include international news, others contend that this subject may not be suitable for the youths. Although it is beneficial to gain global awareness by reading international news, in my opinion, it is more suitable to educate our teenager on domestic news for a start. Many proponents recognize the importance of global perspectives in this inter-connected world. An event happening in one side of the world may pose immediate reactions in other nations. For example, the election of U.S. President can affect the political policies or the stock markets of other countries to a large extent. Therefore, the earlier that teenagers are taught to read, understand and analyze global news in the schooling system, the more profound insight into the world they will gain in order to better equip themselves in the fast-changing international context in future. On the contrary, I would argue that studying international news is too sophisticated for the youths when they have little knowledge about the history, tradition, religion of that particular foreign region. In contrast, being familiar with the background of their community, learning local news is far more easier for secondary school students. It is also their interests and concern about what is going on in the surroundings as it is highly relevant to their livings. According to a survey conducted in Hong Kong, many teen folks often chat about local hot topics among peers. However, they would seldom touch about international issues. To conclude, although there are benefits for secondary school student to have exposure on international news, the local issues are more easier and appealing for them to learn and apprehend.