Some people think it's better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it is good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While it is believed by some that good friends should share the same views, others contend that true friendship allows different opinions occasionally. Although agreeability can maintain a harmonious relationship, I think an authentic friendship should be built on mutual understanding and respect for varied thoughts without fear of conflict. Seeking for validation of one’s belief and value, many individuals tend to look for friends with similar minds whereas they would agree with each other on most of the issues. This kind of relationship brings about harmony as well as comfort and emotional support. According to a psychological research in London, when people ask for advices from friends, most of them are actually looking for agreement and approval of their own thoughts from third parties. However, despite that agreeability can foster peaceful and smooth friendship, fear of conflict might also lead to suppressed feelings and hindrance of diverse opinions. In contrast, long lasting relationships are made of sugar and spice but not always everything nice. Healthy and authentic friendship should be built on mutual understanding and respect, and cherish occasional disagreements. In fact, constructive debates between peers, which stimulate critical thinking and foster varied perspectives, can be more than inspirational. For example, people usually could maintain long term friendship with those who could give them or tolerate different, yet real thoughts. In addition, managing conflicts between peers may develop tactful social skills, enriching their life experience as well as personal growth. In conclusion, though agreeability is appreciable for holding smooth friendship, I believe true friends can stand diverse views and constructive disagreements, which in turn builds an even stronger bond.