The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is generally agreed that e-commerce has become widespread all over the globe, so many believe it can easily substitute offline shopping. Even though purchasing over the Internet is mostly convenient and time-saving, I think that traditional stores are still indispensable and could not be fully replaced by their virtual analogues. Firstly, regular shops offer a valuable opportunity to try things on, making it easier for customers to decide whether particular items suit them. For instance, it may be extremely challenging for some women with specific body features to find appropriate clothes online without being able to wear them in front of the mirror. Consequently, stores with comfortable fitting rooms often become their first choice. Secondly, multiple independent stores provide unique atmosphere, making shopping a marvellous adventure. One clear example would be the comic bookshops, which immerse their customers in the Universe of superheroes. Not only do they offer a wide range of magazines to buy, but they also unite comic fans and entertain them. Although ordering comic books online is believed to be cheaper, I do not think that online markets may compete with unusual stores in terms of the cultural impact on consumers. However, it is frequently argued that virtual outlets are more attractive due to their bargain policy. Nevertheless, I strongly disagree with this view, since numerous chain stores provide high-quality items for a good price as well. Furthermore, local markets are suitable for haggling, which is almost impossible to imagine while purchasing over the Internet. Consequently, a classic way of shopping seems to be both profitable and fascinating. To conclude, I disagree with the statement that the development of e-commerce may eliminate boutiques and other types of traditional stores, as offline shopping is suitable, worthwhile and money-saving for a great number of customers.