In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

There has been a recent interest in the historical connection to the houses people live in. Sparked by curiosity to learn more, many people research the value of seemingly basic properties, connection to historical events. In this essay I will explore the reasons why various individuals try to research the historical connection and provide methods on how to achieve it. The first reason would be the will to learn something new out of pure curiosity. People have always been amazed by the past and what can we learn from it. That’s why, knowing that, perhaps, a president could have lived in your house is driving people to do extensive research on simple properties. Therefore, it can broaden one’s horizons as well as inspire to do research on other historical topics, which might be beneficial to the whole community. In addition, knowing more about the past and especially the individuals that lived in certain properties can strengthen the connection between people, bring family secrets into the light, keep the memories of the past linked to the present. Many families get forgotten, just because there is no one to remember them, and by exploring the memories of the past, we can keep the memory of older generations. In order to learn from the past a few methods could be implemented. Firstly, looking for information on the internet might be the easiest method to start. For instance, the widely available application “Google Maps” might provide necessary information on how the building could have looked before. Other sources like old telephone books may tell us to who the property belonged to. On top of that, contacting current or previous owners or inhabitants can be the source of first-hand information about the building and much more details that are not available elsewhere. In conclusion, the reasons why people do research the historical value of their homes can range from p