Fast food is a part of life in many places. Some people think this has bad effects on lifestyle and diet. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, fast food is so popular that it has become an integral part of our lives. Although it provides much convenience to busy individuals, it is contended by many that fast food contributes to poor lifestyle and unhealthy eating habit. I firmly agree with this statement as the prevalence of fast food discourages home cooking and leads to rising rate of obesity. Firstly, the widespread presence of fast food has changed our lifestyles in many ways, one of which is the dramatic decrease of domestic cooking time. Since the emerge of fast food chain restaurants, people are increasing buying fast food meals to avoid the hassle of cooking. Forgoing cooking at home results in reduction of family time and weaker family bonding. For instance, in New Delhi, almost half of the families would rather eating out in fast food chains during rest days than having own traditional cuisines at home. However, they found that little time was spent on family gathering as they could finish the fast food meals quickly. Secondly, fast food has contributed to the rising obesity rate. Fast food is often served in excessively large portion that entices people overeating and gaining weight. In addition, it is high in calories, sugar, saturated fat and sodium and lacks essential nutrients required for a balanced diet. Research findings revealed that children used to have fast food diets have 50% higher chance of overweight than those eat at home. On the other hand, the swift serving time of fast food has encouraged busy workers to spend even more time on work, which may lead to further reduction in physical activity. To conclude, though fast food provides much convenience to urban dwellers, the poor lifestyle and diets that it contributes should not be overlooked.