Numerous museums and historical places are visited by tourists from another zone, not local folk. In this essay, I will elaborate more on the causes of this case and the solution to make the locals visit these places.

There are a lot of buildings and historical spots all around Indonesia which almost every province has their own sites to exhibit the antiques and unique things. Unfortunately, the local societies rarely stop their own museums. There are several factors cause this matter, first and foremost they found that these sites are less attractive compared to other tourism spot in their hometown. The appearance of museums and historical sites is dull and creepy. They have no proper lighting to irradiate their antique stuff. For instance in Fort Rotterdam in South Sulawesi province, the ambience of their room is very dark, which makes public difficult to enjoy things there. The second reason is the facilities in the museums and historical zones are not sufficient. The basic facilities such as the toilet or restroom are quite hard to reach. In Sinjai Museum, the visitors have to go to the outside of the building if they want to go to the restroom. This matter makes the visitors feel uncomfortable. All of these reasons make the locals who are knew of the matter rarely stop the places. There are some actions that the government can apply to attract more local community. The authorities should improve the looks of their museums and historical sites to be more convenient and interesting to visit. They could put proper lighting and add ornaments that could make the appearance more modern. In addition, some facilities for the visitors must be well maintained and managed. The basic thing like toilets must be convenient. Besides that, café and restaurants with unique looks will attract more local population. In conclusion, both the government and society are responsible for the development of museums.