A few people debate that technological inventions like cellphone are making people socially less interactive. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays people are more connected than ever thanks to technological inventions like cellphones and the internet. These innovations are very beneficial for various reasons, however, there can also be some cons to them. A very important one to consider is the impact these modern devices have on socialization. As ironic as it may seem, while mobile phones allow us to establish communication with others despite the geographical distance, they also can end up distancing us from those who are closest. Take, for example, the interactions with friends on social media. Since it is possible to get a glimpse of their daily life through the content they post online, many may not feel the need to organize a get-together to catch up. It is also very common for people to communicate through instant messaging applications. Though this is a very practical form of contact, it´s not in real-time. One will write or send a voice message and will have to wait seconds, minutes, or sometimes even days before getting a response. This as a result ends up making the interaction less spontaneous and therefore, less human. In conclusion, inventions like cell phones and the internet have drastically changed the way people communicate. While there are clear pros to these innovations, I agree that they create more impersonal interactions.