Overpopulation in many major urban centers around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

The population growth in the world has already gone out of control, especially in most Asian and African countries. This problematic issue in these areas is uncontrollable due to illiteracy, poor quality of life, some social and religious taboo against population control. In this essay, I will explore some of the problems associated with overpopulation and propose some solutions. Regulating population surges cannot be achieved immediately, and despite initiatives and educational campaigns, the result may come at a slow pace. As we know, most poor people are not aware about the impact of having a lot of babies on their health, quality of life and financial condition. For instance, the government has to take proper steps and do more launch awareness campaigns, especially in poor neighbourhoods, to educate them about the negative consequences of having many children. Furthermore, making contraceptives available for free among the poor population should be taken into consideration. It would help prevent from undesirable pregnancy and population growth in long term. The authority must impose law to restrict the number of children a family can have. To illustrate this, families in China, in the past, were not allowed to have more than one child, otherwise, they would have faced a financial penalty. It seems cruel, anyway it had a positive outcome. In conclusion, if the population keeps growing at a current rate, then the world will find itself in the war for food, medicine, and shelter. The time has come to take steps to solve the overpopulation issue. Therefore, the government and individuals should work together to tackle it.