In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

It has been widely stated that students could take a year off from studying in order to travel or work after high school graduating. However, its cons sometimes make us hesitate about its pros. In present essay, an attempt is made to portray the merits and demerits of a year-long break to work or travel before continuing education. On the one hand, there are undeniable advantages to have a year to experience a journey or job after getting a diploma in high school. Not only can it open a window upon a world mirroring wonderful horizons, but also it provides a useful resource of broadening one’s mind. Firstly, students’ trip can be impressive to enrich their life and acquaint themselves with the facts of independent life in unfamiliar environments. Although it might be demanding to cope with the vicissitudes of life, it can play a vital role in their future life and the young learn to put up with their responsibility in society. In addition, adolescents usually evince insatiable curiosity to find out novel skills resulting in pursuing their talent in favorable job matching with their inherent power. As an illustration, many individuals are engrossed by jobs that they would apprentice after high school. On the other hand, there are concomitant risks taking a long break. Tardiness in selecting and studying academic courses is a barrier stunting to reach to beloved subject in outstanding universities since they prefer ones inclining to continue academic education faster. Moreover, in spite of the fact that respite from the surfeit of homework is enjoyable, it can be regarded as onset of an insidious trend toward education ignorance. Many people believe that unless do they carry on schooling, they will gain money more and faster. Indubitably, this bitter fact can bring about lots of problems later in their life and dissuades them from achieving to what they are able to get with academic qualifications. In conclusion, supposedly, a year- long gap between getting high school degree and commencing new academic year in university can have a prominent role in student’s life, but meanwhile it has a plethora of drawbacks influencing on his or her life.