There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Non-academic subjects are considered compulsory in most schools in Indonesia, therefore there are mixed feelings regarding it. I believe that these subjects should not be removed from the school syllabus for several reasons. First, non-academic subjects increase students' soft skills. For example, learning how to work in a team and improving coordination through physical education and sports. It is without a doubt that soft skills are as important as hard skills. Second, these subjects help to reduce stress and improve mental health quality. If for instance non-academic subjects are removed, students will be too stressed with homework and exams, ultimately having no time for exercise and doing any hobby of theirs. In conclusion, from my personal experience, I believe that there are more benefits in non-academic subjects than drawbacks. Therefore, schools should not remove these subjects for the sake of improving the mental health and soft skills of the students.