In many countries, traditional foods are being replaced by fast food. This has a negative impact on families, individuals and society. To what extent do you agree / disagree?

The popularity of foreign fast- food has seen significant surge over the past decade, as it is evident in the wide range of international fast- food chains entering urban local regions. These fast- food range from western meals, such as hamburgers, fried chicken, and pizzas; middle-eastern food such as kebabs, shawarma, and prata bread; and eastern oriental cuisines, such as sushi, dim sum, and bibimbap. Although there are some benefits gained from this phenomena, the threats that come as a consequence of the situation may raise a range concerns. The benefits from the influx of foreign fast- food would be the enrichment of cultural variety to a region reflecting the current modernization through globalization at a local level. The presence of foreign brands may also stimulate local economies as it promotes employment and commerce to an area. However, there are negative consequences that may incur due to this event, since for individuals, the nutrition content of fast- food may not be as positive as the content from slow-cooked traditional food. Modern instant food tends to be from frozen products and deep-fried and these are known to have health hazards if consumed too often. For families, children may be brought up appreciating more of foreign fast food as opposed to traditional local food, if their attention are not guided by their parents. As a result, a propensity to undermine local values may be inadvertently embedded since childhood. On the whole, the impact on society could be that a community would slowly lose its core local identity, as it is worn down by the common presence of foreign fast food due to foreign cultures being featured as part of food outlet interiors and cultural theme ambiance. To conclude, despite the gains from the presence of foreign fast food in local regions, there are concerns regarding the conservation of local traditions and values.