Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

In this day and age, many people believe that it is essential to have a good level of English in order to achieve academic and laboral success. While this affirmation might be true to some extent, in my personal opinion local languages should still be taught in schools as they are a key part of countries’ cultural heritage. In this essay, I will discuss the relevance of learning English during the 21st century and some different ways to promote local languages and how to avoid their disappearance. To begin with, many teachers support the view that English is the most important language worldwide due to globalization. Countless countries have incorporated it into their study plans, becoming one of the main subjects that students have to pass before finishing high school. From my point of view, English is the chosen language in international businesses and universities, therefore mastering it can definitely broaden the individual’s horizons as endless opportunities might appear such as continuing their academic or professional development at international universities and companies. In addition to that, during the last few years, legal requirements have been created for those who are willing to continue developing their career abroad, for instance, an official English test has to be undertaken and passed. Nonetheless, learning new languages should not forbid the study of many others, such as local languages or dialects that are only used in specific areas. First of all, the cultural identity of an area is defined by the mother tongue its citizens speak. Secondly, it enriches and strenghtens strengthen society, hence forgetting it or relegating it to a second place should not be done. Many local councils have noticed this fact and have started working in the promotion of its languages in different formats, such as musical performances, theatres and poetry. In particular, the government of Catalonia, in northern Spain have designated part of its annual budget to teach Catalan to foreigners free of charge as a way of promoting its language so that lasts in time. To conclude, learning English is a must for the young generations due to the globalized and competitive world where we live, consequently, those with better formation will achieve their goals easily. Having said that, it should not happen to detriment of local languages as they are equally relevant. Creating safe spaces where minority languages can be spoken and explored is the right way forward.