Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Science and technology has a huge impact on our society, which is why some people argue that all college students must focus on the current issues that the world is facing nowadays. Besides that, some still believe that everyone has a right to decide whatever they want. This essay will elaborate two perspectives which can give a great view on their prospective careers. To begin with, many aspects of our daily basis are influenced by science and technology such as health, transportation, artificial intelligence, and others. For instance, all those aspects need extensive science and technology studies. On the other hand, governments also look forward to candidates that acquired knowledge on specific studies concerning science and technology. For example, Health Workers with specialization on Virology are needed during Covid-19; however, it is undoubtedly really hard to find someone who is an expert on those subjects especially in some developing countries. Another example, cyber security was a big issue in the last decade since every country might attack others directly using the internet like artificial intelligence. Cyber security experts are needed to protect private data from spies or scammers. Conversely, Social Science and Humanities subjects also have a huge role in developing cultures, languages, and literatures. Since culture is part of soft diplomacy for each country, we never imagine how the country could be without developing their own cultures and languages. All aspects regarding cultures and languages will disappear one day because no one takes it seriously. For instance, Papua island has very huge communities living side by side covering nearly 300 local languages and a hundred tribes. Government should take actions to preserve every culture and should make an intensive policy to support culture and art so that people can learn how diverse living in this world is. Although, Social science graduates are facing very good career prospects in the future, it doesn’t mean that the subjects are neglected. In conclusion, I fully understand that every subject is important to develop our communities in the future. Concerning some people who neglected other subjects, the government should take actions to provide job seekers a lot of opportunities to gain.