nowadays genetically modified food products are widespread throughout the world. while proponents of (genetically modified) GM crops ensure that these foods are safe for human consumption and help increase supplies, others argue that their health effects have not been studied long enough. discuss both the advantages and disadvantages.

In the past decades there have been an increase in genetically modified food products around the world. Some experts claimed that genetically modified food is safe for human consumption, and it could be the answer to solve a food scarcity. However, we do not have the study that shows this type of food is safe to consume in the long run. This topic has been a controversy for a long time because of its various advantages and disadvantages. There are several benefits linked to the invention of genetically modified food products. When crops are planted in the area with low soil quality, the quality of the crops decreased resulted in the relatively small size and low nutrients. However, this can be improved by using fertilizer to genetically enhance the quality through the addition of synthetic vitamin and compounds, which resulted in a bigger crop size, elevated taste, and enhanced nutrients. The same technique is also applied in the farmhouses, where cows and chickens were given hormones to improve their weight, fat content and fertility. With the modification of size and nutrients in the food, the quantity and quality of food increased, which is helpful for food supply especially in the area where food scarcity is likely to happen. However, some nation has shown that the consumption of genetically modified foods negatively impacts the health. In America, where the consumption of this kind of food is high, there have been a significant increase in the number of obese individuals within the last decades. Moreover, from the recent study, the consumption of the meat that previously have been treated with growth hormones has also make children hit their puberty sooner than ever. Furthermore, the synthetic compounds used in the fertilizer improved the risk of tumor and cancer, along with fertility issues such as PCOS. In conclusion, despite of various benefits regarding genetically modified food products, there are also some risks imposed around human’s health with prolonged consumption. Therefore, people should be aware of the pros and cons before consuming this food category.