Nowadays, a lot of offices employ open-space designs instead of separate rooms for work. Do the advantage of this outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, there is an increasing trend towards designing open-space rooms in workplaces for employees. I believe that the drawbacks of this approach outbalance the positives. This essay will explane reasons to support my idea. Considering firstly the benefits of open-space areas, an important one is that by taking this approach is more likely to decrease houres when employees wasting in their workplace. This is because they are probably more under surveillance while they are working where others are able to monitor them. For example, some workers tend to making personal phone calls or playing online games instead of doing their responsibilities and tasks. Hence, it is expected that they will be more conscious when they are in office which deter them from procrastinating and messing around. However, the main disadvantages that this trend brings about are obviously diminishing staffs' privacy and reducing their focus. As for the former, The reason for this is that they do not have their own private space due to a very close proximity. For instance, after sitting long hours they might be keen to take their shoes off and close their eyes for minutes to recharge their battery, nevertheless, it is not possible in open-space rooms while others are watching you from time to time. Aditionally, with regards to the latter, some people find it difficult to concentrate on their tasks while others are making alot of noises or talking to them which could disturb them. Consequently, the work quality would reduce. In conclusion, I would argue that the disadvantages of lacking adequet privacy and focus outweigh the advantage of working hard or probably more efficiently.