in recent years, "responsible tourists" have focused on preserving both the culture and environment of the places they visit. However, some people say that it is impossible to be a "responsible tourist". To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The trend of traveling has been increasing in the past decades. Some people argue that to have a full experience of a destination, we should learn and embrace its culture and environment, hence we have to take our part to preserve both of them in regards to be a “responsible tourist”. However, some people think that destinations with various options of resorts and facilities along with internationally spoken locals are the best ones to visit. And with that being said, more destination started to built more building and facilities in order to support tourism, as well as incorporating international languages to their daily life. In my opinion, I agree that we should be focused in being a “responsible tourist”. There are several benefits that a place can get through sacrificing the local culture and environment. Building various type of hotels and resorts may improve the economy by increasing the number of tourists. Furthermore, the locals realize that they are able to attract more tourists to their businesses by having skills to speak foreign languages. In return, a destination gets more popular when the tourists can fully experience the place they visited because of the ease of communication. These phenomena have been experienced in the majority of popular travelling destination, such as Bali, Thailand, Maldives, etc. However, with more culture being forgotten and environment being damaged, a destination could lose its popularity. For example, there is a soaring number of accommodations in Bali which resulted in less rice fields, forests, and spaces in the beach. It became a highly populated city within decades, and the traffic became insufferable as well. Furthermore, more people started to talk in foreign languages daily, which decrease the popularity of Balinese language even within the locals. This resulted in the erosion of Balinese culture. Moreover, recent studies shown that these factors lead to the decrease of Bali’s popularity along the travelers, as it was not considered a special destination anymore. In conclusion, sacrificing the destination ’s culture and environment can bring many advantages to its economy. However, this will likely bring more harmful impacts in the long run compared to the benefits. Therefore, we should keep preserving a destination ’s local culture and environment.