It is expected in the near future that there will be a higher proportion of old people compared to younger population in some countries. Is it a positive or negative development? Give your opinion and examples.

Due to the advancement in medicine, life expectancy has considerably increased in many parts of the world. It is predicted that the number of old people will rise in the near future. It is admitted that older people can bring benefits to the public. However, it may be an unfavourable change overall. There are a number of positive effects associated with elderly people in societies. Seniors always pass on their knowledge, wisdom and expertise to the next generation. They possess a wealth of experience, which may be valuable for guiding young people. Apart from that, in many countries, old people play a crucial role in providing support to their families. They, for example, can look after children which allows parents to concentrate on other responsibilities. Nevertheless, the increasing number of older people can bring about several problems. Firstly, they are likely a major financial burden on the government budget. Most of them are unable to meet their needs. For this reason,the government should provide them financially in the form of pensions. Another issue is that as most of them require medical care services, governments have to allocate essential drugs as well as build resorts without charge so as to maintain their health. As an example of this view, there are some special recreational places in every region of our country such as Aktash, Zamin and so on. In such kinds of zones, the elderly are provided with distinctive medical care by geriatricians and involved in relaxation activities like yoga or meditation. In conclusion, whereas older generations have a superior role in society, they tend to demand excessive attention from both authorities and their offspring. That is why, the drastic growth of them can cause several inconveniences and negative consequences in the long run.