“The only way to improve road safety is to have stricter punishments for driving offenders. To what extent do you agree or disagree?”

It is stated that applying stricter fines and penalties is the only solution to secure safety on the road. It is the writer’s perspectives that it is not the sole option as more efficacious solutions are available to minimize the hidden dangers for participants. It is crucial to comprehend that reckless driving is not only an attribute to increasing fatalities and danger on road as it also depends on the quality of the streets and highways. In crowded zones, streets are damaged detrimentally rapid as a high frequency of traveling occurs for a long period, therefore, increasing accident risk, congestion and black spots is also by dint of wide holes and permanent marks made of this bad phenomenon. Thus, it is advisable for governments and local councils to raise more funding for transport infrastructure. Another basic point to mention is outdated Highway Code and other transportaion policies. With the appearances of new vehicle models and the changing traffic trends, many accidents occurred for the reason that old rules and regulations are no longer to operate properly by time. Therefore, it is of the utmost importance that government and local councils should also update the Highway Code to suit with latest states and situations. Having enumerated the given reasons, it is undeniable that leaving stricter bans and fines have been playing one of the most important roles in keeping the status stable as reckless driving, speeding, drunk driving are those of the most popular causes for accidents. Putting stricter punishments is essential for violators to change their attitudes and behaviours positively to help traffic flow safer. However, it is not effective enough to solve all problems on accident risk and casualities as accidents come from numerous causes as can be listed as poor street states, illogical traffic light system Therefore, enforce various solutions simultaneously in order to prevent it in all aspects can give the best result. In conclusion, more options such as improving streets, transport infrastructure and update the Highway Code are recommended to co-operate with punish street violators. Therefore, putting stricter penalties is not the only solution to prevent this detrimental problem.