Some school leavers travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university. Do the advantages of this for their study outweigh the disadvantages?

Numerous individuals hold the opinion that some school leavers have a tendency to seek employment or travel instead of going straight to college. I am firmly of the opinion that its strengths are weightier than its shortcomings. One the one hand, one of the merits is that it could allow individuals to gain practical work experience. Joining the workforce after graduation enhances their skills and makes them more competitive in the job market. Additionally, the gap year of today now has a decidedly positive impact on people’s independence, thanks to it, they can increase their independence. A clear example of it is that during a period of gap year they have the combination of work experience, solo travel, personal projects, financial responsibility, decision-making, communicating, and time-management relatively. Thereby its strong points, traveling or working after graduation could be an optimal choice for each school leavers. Conversely, there are some cons to school leavers. One such disadvantage is delaying academic education, which mainly results from taking a period of time off before college. In the point of fact, there is a possibility of missing out on opportunities that may have been available immediately after high school or college. Admittedly, gap year brings them a huge backlog of pros, it can also be a burden for them when transitioning back to university. In a nutshell, I completely agree that the merits outweigh the demerits because opting for employment or traveling could provide them work experience and shape them into more self-reliant and resourceful individuals. Nevertheless, it can also lead to time-wasting and missing a backlog of opportunities, thus I recommend that depending on each individual’s situation they could opt for suitable personal growth.