Some countries achieve international sports by building specialised facilities to train top athletes, instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is no denying the fact that sports facilities are crucial in training for all people in general, including athletes. While it is a commonly held belief that constructing specialised places to train talented players is significantly important to achieve international sports, there is also an argument that building public sports facilities would be much better. This essay will discuss this topic from both perspectives and express my opinion. On one hand, governments seek to thrive by pursuing the development in many life's aspects including international sports competitions. In other words, one of the most popular ways to be a developed country is to be conscious of the international sports and the importance of engaging these matches. In addition, to compete in the global sport games, each country should invest in training their best athletes. For example, all the countries around the world are keen to be involved in the Olympics. On the other hand, preparing general facilities for the public use is essential in terms of conserving people health, which would certainly be affected. It is also possible to say that the existance of public places will encourage the residents to exercise and be more conscious about their bodies' health. Moreover, building such places will be available for all people including the top athletes. For instance, many countries nowadays build sports facilities to be common for everyone, but they use time-dividing techniques to separate the public and top talented. In conclusion, there are no easy answers to this question. On balance, however, I tend to believe that providing sports facilities for public usage would be more beneficial than specialising it for a certain layer of society.