In many countries, people are now living longer than even before. some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having ageing population outweigh the disadvantages.

It is certainly true that the increased number of elderly population brings some drawbacks for governments. However, it is my belief that the positive effects of this phenomenon could certainly offset its disadvantages. There are several drawbacks to the growing aging population. A common criticism of the expanding elderly citizen demographic is related to healthcare expenses, especially for elderly individuals with low income, or for the establishment of new residential services, among others. Consequently, governments are compelled to allocate a significant amount of money for these types of initiatives. Another negative aspect could be the non-inclusion of this group in the workforce. Similarly, this might bring about funding problems on account of the rising retirement expenditures. In spite of these negative effects, however, an increase in this group’s population might bring important benefits as well. One obvious advantage is the job prospects in the health sector. Since it leads to an increased demand for healthcare staff, people may hold more esteem towards workers in this sector. For this reason, with increased salaries, this sector could contribute to an expansion in Gross Demand Production. From a sentimental perspective, another positive effect is that, in most cases, we can benefit from their experiences. To sum up, it seems to me that an increase in elderly population has more benefits than disadvantages.