Experts say older people were happier and healthier in the past because they did more exercise and spent more time with family and friends,whereas many now suffer from loneliness and health problems.what are the causes of this and what are some solutions.

There is no doubt that our old generation had led a more enjoyable and content life in the past.They had immense opportunities for exercise and spent quality time with their loved ones. However,in the contemporary society retires face a variety of issues which include loneliness and ill health. This essay will explore the several causes and try to find some solutions to the said problem. To begin with,one of the prominent reasons for old age loneliness and compromised health are empty nestedness.Once the children starts working,they had to leave the family and go away for their livelihood,which leaves the older parents alone. For example,a recent study conducted by Munich university,reveals the fact that 80% of the elder population confronts with isolation. Furthermore,the less avenues for socialising due to ill health is another typical cause for this.Rather than spending time with friends,they opt to live inside the four walls due to the fear of fall. The suggested solutions for this issue are old age home with cutting edge facilities and promoting old age clubs for improved social lives. In Japan, there are geriatric specialist health workers inspect the welfare of old people who live in the community. In Finland the oldies clubs are more prevelant, where they spent quality time, engaged in various entertainments. The local governments in collaboration with non governmental organisations should adopt multifaceted approach to tackle this problem. In conclusion, the elderly people are undoubtedly facing aloneness and bad health. The government as well as general public has an amble role to play to give adequate welfare for them.