Do the benefits of genetic engineering outweigh the dangers? ? (Genetically Modified Organisms – GMOs)

Whether to utilise GMOs in agriculture is a recurring argument. This writer argues that the benefits of increasing product productivity and reducing pesticides outweigh the drawbacks of environmental pollution. The most advantageous factor of using GMOS is that it ensures the quality and design of the products. In other words, GMOs protect products from diseases and the impact of environmental conditions. Furthermore, GMOs also help farmers save time on farming as well as production costs than traditional methods. As a result, GMOs lead to higher yields and improve food security. Another point that should be considered is the amount of pesticides which are spent on the products. It must be recognised that when farmers utilise GMOs, it just requires a few chemical drugs as well as pesticides. As a result, products which are applied to GMOs will protect the environment from pollution and buyers can consume an organic product with more nutrition. However, some people think that utilising GMOs will make the environment become polluted. Due to the fact that most farmers tend to eliminate waste sources to the environment such as rivers or garbage dumps. It may be true but by installing cameras in these places and tightening regulations on waste treatment will go a long way in preventing the environment from waste pollutants. Taking all points into account, the waste pollutants are outweighed by the benefits of the high productivity and the good quality of the output. Hence, it is more beneficial for farmers to utilise GMOs in agriculture.