Most countries want to host international sports events, while other countries think hosting sports events has more problems than benefits. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The world has drastically changed and that includes sports. Many people believe that hosting sports is a good idea and some disagree that is has many more problems than benefits. This will essay discuss both views and I will give my opinion. Hosting sports events is a terrific idea that should appeal to many countries. First, hosting sports makes very good relationships with other countries. For example, Qatar has a very good reputation after the World Cup and managed to have many friends across the world. Second, restaurants, shops, and transportation can benefit tremendously. Tourists, fans, and visitors usually want to try and sample some of the country's local culture. Some go shopping to buy flags and jerseys. Finally, new public places have been created and improved. A good example of this are the roads, airports and stadiums. Most countries spend months or maybe even years changing public areas to be better. However, hosting sports events has its downsides as well. First, countries spend huge amounts of money to build stadiums, hotels and shops. For example, Brazil in 2016 hosted the Olympics and spent around thirteen billion dollars and didn’t even get their money back because there was high corruption, unfinished infrastructure, and wasted stadiums. Second, large crowds produce a lot of garbage and waste which causes pollution. As well as this, there is increased traffic and noise. Finally, people might need to leave their houses, especially if it’s a small country because they need to build everything to satisfy the fans. In conclusion, it is clear to see that hosting international events has both advantages and disadvantages. In my opinion, I believe that hosting large expensive international events is a terrible decision which has more problems than positives.