Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I disagree to a large extent of the aforementioned statement. The ratio of male and female students in universities has changed from the usual figures in the past, but this dogmatic claim is done without careful thoughts. Advocaters of this claim undertake the belief and enactment of equality among genders, while sarcastically disputing another equality system, fair competitions. Under fair competitions, the difference of academic results lies in learners’ intellectual capacity, persistence, and how they make use of their resources. More capable learners could tdo better in time management, allocate suitable portions to studying, whole-person development activities and relieving stress. These are the success factors of students, not their genders. What is more, social trends, popular culture and personal academic preferences contribute to the decision of choosing certain subjects. It is the students’ general abilities that universities should consider, instead of gender. Therefore, it is actually unequal for universities to implement the policy of same sex entry numbers. In addition, this idea neglects potential threats to the society. Firstly, if this agenda is set, it is questionable why high schools do not accept the same number of male and female entries. When fairness is put superficially on raw numbers, other factors are omitted. Second, social oragnisation and hierarchy should be based on individual talents and specialisations, rather than gendered positions. This statement projects a hope that there will be an equal number of two genders in the workplace. However, the focus should be on how educated youngsters could contribute their knowledge and skills to the workplace, rather than maintaining the same number of experts in each field. To sum up, it is highly dangerous to support such a claim which does not have solid grounds. Stakeholders are suggested to reconsider their ideologies of fairness and the pitfalls of this claim.