Some people say that all secondary and higher secondary school students should be taught how to manage money as it is an important life skill.

It is an undeniable fact that the whole world is being run by the key concept of money management. Money is the fundamental source of necessity and happiness in today's world. Irrespective of an individual's age, financial management is regarded as a cognitive skill that could be learned through life experiences, so sooner the better. However, a view has been surfacing every now and then that money management should be taught in a school atmosphere during adolescence. From my perspective, there are several problems stemming from teaching financial management. Teen years, especially adolescence, are considered a vulnerable period for learning skill sets like decision making and problem solving. Adolescence is a period where people have a lot of inner conflicts regarding their self-identity. Social circles and peers influence the behavior of the individual incredibly during the secondary and higher secondary school years. For example, teenagers try to fit into the category of cool kids by consuming drugs, cigars and alcohol. This kind of addiction could lead to the mismanagement of funds. It is quite obvious that, character building and behavior modeling should be ingrained at home and school. The need for money or penuria pyuria should come from within oneself.A young adult could be taught to manage and save their pocket money wisely from a very early age. Schools could encourage the money management by giving rewards to pupils for their outstanding performances. For instance, a teenager who earns a scholarship or financial reward will manage and save the fund carefully. This will encourage other poor performers to do well and strive for the scholarship too. This will make them realise the value of money, and they will have a tendency to take care of their hard earned income. In conclusion, financial goals are an important skill that will change the outlook of an individual by creating an inner desire to be a responsible and independent individual. This seems to be a good development for a teenager, which will last for a long period of time.