SOME PEOPLE BELIEVE THAT UNPAID COMMUNITY SERVICE SHOULD BE A COMPULSORY PART OF HIGHSCHOOL PROGRAMS. to what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Most people think that voluntary community service must be mandatory for secondary students as a part of their curriculum. Which I strongly agree with and support. Making community service a must for high school scholars has a lot of benefits and advantages. First of all, it will be a great learning experience for them because they will be exposed to new, and out-of-their comfort zone places. Working in a library, firehouse, long-term care, and agricultural field will give them a new perspective and better understanding of what the workforce does in each section. Secondly, it will help the learners to gain new skills in the process of being in a different environment. For example, working in a small-town gift shop as a part of the tourism department helps them in their communication skills when dealing with a customer, also teamwork and camaraderie finishing all the tasks given to them in a timely manner. With this new gained and honed learning they will be ready for the future when they enter their career life. Furthermore, discipline is being developed when students are in a work set-up, they need to follow protocols and rules. In particular being on time for the job, respecting the authorities, following the chain of command, and finishing tasks assigned on a deadline gives them a sense of responsibility as well. Equipped with all traits they will become a better person. To conclude, including unpaid community service as a compulsory part of the learning program for the highschoolers gives a great advantage for the learners.