New household appliances have resulted in more free time for women and has enabled them to both work and run a home with dependent children. What are the advantages for a family when the mother works? Do you think the disadvantages outweigh the advantages

It is true that the invention of household facilities created more spare time for women and gave them opportunities to pursue their work aspirations as well as maintain housework with un-reliant children. Although it may have some drawbacks, I believe this can bring more benefits. On the one hand, the option to let the woman work can has some benefits in financial-oriented for a family and teach the children to be more independent. The first advantage is that women can support family financially to enhance living quality. This can be explained by the fact that either the man or the woman can give a hand to each other if there is an undesirable situation or provide an efficient environment for children ’s growth. Secondly, separate time for career paths instead of only paying attention to family can stimulate children to do chores. For example, if they see their mothers struggle in the workplace, they will have a responsibility to be independent, and avoid overindulgence. However, all these benefits come at a cost, working mothers are not given enough time for their kids. Children need to have all-rounded guidance in their development stage,especially preadolescents. This is because if parents can not offer their kids vital care, they might cope with bad situations with dire results. Furthermore, it has been shown that children keep their distance from their parents, due to a lack of sharing and understanding from a young age. For instance, American kids are usually given freedom when they are teenagers, as a result, they do not have close boundaries with their relatives. I do not think that distance and over-reliance should be seen as major disadvantages because it depend on how the mothers are able to balance their personal and private lives and define some priorities In conclusion, while there are some disadvantages regarding professional mothers, I believe this downside can not outweigh the upside that it helps mothers to have more leisure and can contribute to protect the family. It is recommended that women should set priorities as well as be flexible in tackling dilemmas in order to minimize the cons.