In many countries, fast food is becoming cheaper and more widely available. Do the disadvantages of this outweigh the advantages?

There is no denying that fast food has become a major food source in many countries thanks to its wide availabilty and low price. Despite possessing some positive aspects, I am apprehensive about this trend. Junk food is a foremost contributor to the high incidence of contracting diet-related illnesses in many nations. It must be acknowledged that fast food chains prioritize profit over the health of their customers by adding more salt and deeply frying products. When consumers excessively consume these fatty, rich-fat foods, suffering from obesity is inevitable as they contain high calories and are easy to get addicted to. As a result, this trend adversely affected social health outcomes, demanding financial resources from the government to treat the consequences of fast food consumption. Opponents of this fat-rich, processed food argue that the proliferation of fast- food franchises contributes to society's prosperity. Regarding society, these chains create job opportunities for people surrounding that area who are low-skilled workers needing no degree jobs. Take the Philippines, home of Jolibee, one of the world's most renowned fast- food brands. The quality of life of Philippine residents has improved since they started working at fast food restaurants, giving them an additional source of revenue. The ubiquity of processed food has revolutionized people's lifestyles. In many industrialized countries, people with hectic schedules have no concerns about preparing fresh food, which is time-consuming, but purchasing processed food is more delicious and time-efficient. In conclusion, while being a crucial factor in the development of society, having a detrimental impact on social health is the essential reason fast food can be integrated into people's diets. Hence, initiatives implemented by the government to educate people about the value of healthy diets are crucial to addressing this trend.