Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any other experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence?

As some reports state, “The features we have naturally have much more effect on our personality and development than other experiences that we have in our life.” This is a controversial issue and it makes people confusing which one is the major influence that affects ourselves. For me, I think both of them are important; however, experiences have much higher influence on us. Edison said, “Genius is one percent inspiration and ninety-nine percent perspiration.” I agree with it very much. Edison had some learning problems when he was little; however, he worked very hard, trying more than 1000 kinds of bulbs and invented the most useful thing, light in our world. He experienced a lot of mistakes and achieved great work. It shows that maybe he was not the smartest person, but a perseverant one. Take another person for example, Stanley Yan, one of the hotel presidents, wasn’t a good student at school. However, he went to a delivery company to become a fundamental employee and tried his best to learn. Through a lot of hard work, he became the president of the company. Afterwards, his leadership ability caught other people’s eyes; thus, he was asked to become the president of the hotel. From these examples, they prove that experience may have more influence to make people successful. After a lot of stress, mistakes, and hard work, the harvest of them all are much more meaningful. To sum up, in my opinion, the experiences you have may change your life. You can turn your weak personality or development into your strength by training yourself. Getting through a lot of experiences will make you stronger.