Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While it is more crucial to completely focus on the main subjects and get the qualification, a few undergraduates yearn to learn additional subjects. Personally, I would lean toward the latter as university students can prepare themselves with useful information about other areas as well as relationships and crucial skills when obtaining the same diploma. There are two merits accounting for why undergraduates want to take part in extra-curricular lessons. To begin with, students from different fields are divided into classes on shuffle and required to complete assignments that boost their personal or teamwork skills. This can greatly ensure a large number of well-qualified employees after school who were taught to maintain team spirit. Furthermore, participants are able to get on well with each other, even their tutors when making progress together, thereby forming social circles that are substantial for student's career paths afterwards. However, learning additional subjects not only better their own soft skills as above-mentioned, but also their hard skills since undergraduates must be informed before class. To be more specific, they need to get a general grasp of upcoming lessons at home, thus enhancing their own self-discipline and self-learning which is especially essential towards the upcoming challenges. These benefits hence altogether make learning ing about other subjects worth trying than ever. Moving on to specializing in a major, the students are able to enjoy several benefits from such practice. By concentrating on the main subjects, they can have a deeper understanding of related complex theories and concepts, thereby minimising any unwanted mistakes during their study or research project. This way of learning is only suitable for specific industries, especially ones that emphasize qualifications such as doctors, lawyers, and scientists. To be more specific, a student majoring in Chemical Engineering and Technology only focuses on the project of his course to revise all of his gained knowledge, signifying getting a more prestigious qualification and boosting his future opportunities for jobs. Nonetheless, in a job environment, there are several problems such as promotion or redundancy that need specific skills to solve that a student who learns extra-curriculum can acquire during their school time. In conclusion, it depends on the major that students have to decide whether to participate in extra classes besides the main ones. However, the writer would agree with students who do this as they can prepare themselves for significant skills before graduation, in addition to their qualification