You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people believe that the problem of illegal drugs can be solved by just legalising all drugs. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? You should write at least 250 words.

The problem concerning illegal drugs has sparked across the world, as some people believe that it can be resolved by simply removing the law that banned the drugs. However, I firmly disagree with that point of view due to various reasons. First and foremost, it is imperative to understand the harmful effects of banned substances. Illegal substances are shown to cause harmful behavior for people around them. For example, a hit-and-run accident in Los Angeles in 2017 occurred because the driver was under the influence of weed. Taking note of that example, it is critical for the government to prevent and mitigate such tragedies. Furthermore, allowing the population to consume drugs will not alleviate the problem. For instance, the city of Boston that has legalized weed is still facing the same crime numbers due to the psychotropic effect. Moreover, providing education regarding the negative impact of narcotics is proven to be a more effective approach to dealing with the issue. For instance, New York City reduced the consumption of heroin by 70 percent in 2019 because of the state-wide lecture on the disadvantages of heroin usage. Additionally, the policy can be implemented for early-age students, as education is shown to be most effective for younger children. To conclude, I strongly believe that legalizing all drugs would be counterproductive in dealing with the excess drug usage problem. There are better options for resolving the issue, such as by providing basic courses regarding the side effects of illegal substances.