Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience

Over the last few decades, there have been vast advances in the field of medical science. Scientists have to use animals to some extent to be able to prove the safety of certain medicines or cosmetic products for human use. In my opinion, using animal experiments should be limited to some specific drugs. I would like to start my argument by writing about the viewpoints of the opponents. Many people claim that using animals as a tool for human benefit is unacceptable. They believe that animals can feel fear and pain so, they will suffer as much as human beings and unfortunatelly they can not express their pain. On the other hand, people who are in favour of this method, point out that using animals for proving the safety of a product especially some drugs is inevitable. Actually, it can not be denied that we owe some of the recent imorovements in medical field to animal experimets. For example, without this method we would not be able to cure most of the fatal ailments such as cancers. Therefore, scientists have no way but using animals to save many human lives. However, using animals should be limited to certain drug tests and when it is really essential. To clarify, I do not agree with animal testing for cosmetic products because I believe that at worth case scenario those products can cause a mild allergic reaction on humans which is not fatal. To summarize, based on what is discussed above, animal experiments are inevitable and by using that, scientists will be able to save several human lives. Therefore, it should be used only for essential scientific purposes.