In many countries, children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility.   Discuss both those views and give your own opinion.

I strongly disagree with putting children into paid work. There are a lot of disadvantages to this kind of nature and I will give you two reasons. First of all, they are easily exploited. Most of them, if not all, do not know their rights as a worker. They might be given longer work hours for lower pay. Second, senior coworkers will abuse them while at work. These abuses can be scarring and can lead to trauma in their life later on. I do understand why some people would agree to put them into paid labour. It may be because these children can learn a skill that can be beneficial for them in their adulthood. Let’s say they work in the fishing sector, these children can learn how to swim fast and can tell which fish can be eaten or not. Another reason why people agree on it is because they may learn how to manage their time well. Time management is an important skill that everyone should learn. When these children work, they will value deadlines. In conclusion, children who are put into paid work can have both advantages and disadvantages. While there are countries that normalize this, there are also countries that see this as against the law. As for my own opinion, I do not support it at all. Children should play. They should learn how to have fun.